Exploring Korea’s Cat Cafés ( 8 Photos )

cat cafe 1 cat cafe 2 cat cafe 3 cat cafe 4 cat cafe 5 cat cafe 6 cat cafe 7 cat cafe 8

 

Puppy and kitty cafés are all the rage in Korea. I believe this is due to many folks wanting to dote on some critters without having the responsibility of cleaning up after them, taking them to the vet, and so on. Don’t get me wrong, I love my Dubu Kitty but sometimes the mass volume of fur she sheds gets on my nerves, so I can understand why some wouldn’t want to commit to owning a pet. Rather, they can get their cute, cuddly fill by spending a few hours at a puppy / kitty café. I shared some Polaroids from a puppy café visit  in an older post. Click here to check that one out.

So, these cat cafés work like any other coffeehouse. The only difference is that there are cats milling around, some snoozing, some bolting, all just being themselves. Toys are strewn about, so customers are able to play with the feline inhabitants. Snacks are also available for purchase, so the café goers can become quite popular among the kitties. I definitely was a happy customer upon my visit. Petting cats can lower blood pressure and relieve stress. And besides, they’re just so cute and fun to play with! The cat café is a wonderful place to visit and kill a few hours. I’m wondering if this phenomenon will start spreading overseas. As of yet, I’ve only heard about puppy / kitty coffeehouses in Japan and Korea. What do you think? Do you suppose these cafés will ever gain popularity in the Western world?

Anyhow, as great as cat cafés are, I wouldn’t give up my Dubu for the world. I don’t want her to be a temporary mate, but a permanent one. I decided long before I got her that she would travel anywhere with me. If I uproot myself and move back to America or elsewhere, Dubu Kitty is coming along for the ride.

Well, I hope you enjoyed this little insight into the Korean cat café. These photos were taken with a Mamiya RZ67 on Kodak Tmax 400 film, personally pushed to ISO 1600 in the darkroom. Take care ~
Patrick Bresnahan

12 thoughts on “Exploring Korea’s Cat Cafés ( 8 Photos )

    • Thanks! I’m glad to hear that there are cat cafes in France. I hadn’t known that. I see you have a lovely cat of your own. It’s odd. I have a cat too, and I play and take care of her often…but I still want to visit the cat cafe sometimes!

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Please feel free to comment ~

