Harvest in the Streets, Pushing Rollei Retro 400s to 1600 ( 11 Photos )

harveststreet1 harveststreet2 harveststreet3 harveststreet4 harveststreet5 harveststreet6streetharvest7 streetharvest8 streetharvest9 streetharvest11 streetharvest12

The harvest makes its way to the streets of Anseong, South Korea.

These were shot on Rollei Retro 400s film which I pushed to ISO 1600 in the darkroom. Little did I know that this film doesn’t push well, at least not with the darkroom developer I nearly always use. I’ve heard that D76 isn’t the ideal developer for this film anyhow, but I find it fine to use, albeit yielding a little contrasty images, when I meter my shots at ISO 400. I do tend to get a ‘salty’ looking grain with Retro 400s as well, but I’m not sure why that happens even if I develop normally. If you know more about this particular film, I’d love to hear your comments. Anyhow, I guess I mistakenly assumed that most all 400 ISO black and white films could be pushed two or three stops. Films like Kodak Tri-X and Tmax 400 push particularly well, and are often shot at even ISO 3200. I’ve tried that out with some success, which reminds me that I should post some of those results. The pushed Retro 400s shots, however, might not be to everyone’s taste but I like them enough to share.

If I shoot Rollei Retro 400s  at ISO 400, I’ll develop it in D76 1:1 ratio with water, at 20 degrees Celsius, for 11 minutes. Not finding any information online about the development time when shot at ISO 1600, I took an educated guess and developed for about 20 minutes. Even then, the negatives came out pretty thin for most of the shots. Despite not working very well, I was pleased with the unique look of these photos. Most of them came out really contrasty – perfect for stark street photography. I can’t say for sure if I’ll try this again in the future since some of the photos were so under developed. Chances are, I’ll just load up and push some Tri-X the next time I go out to take some street photos.

I hope you’re enjoying my harvest series! I’ve been having fun putting it all together ^^ ©Patrick Bresnahan

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Please feel free to comment ~

