Four Fisheye Portraits – Kersh, Frank, Me, some Students

fisheyeportraitkershfisheyeportraintfrankfisheyeportraitmefisheyeportraitstudents

Well, I decided to take a look into the archives to see if there was anything I felt like posting. I definitely need to do this more often for a number of reasons. For one, I shoot quite a bit of film and I have the tendency to forget what I’ve shot – usually since I’m already plotting out the next roll and what I want to capture. Sometimes solid photos go unnoticed and I don’t stumble upon them again for quite some time. Also, I don’t want to capture the same images again and again ( unless I’m working on a series ). I should take more time to look at what I’ve photoed while focusing on what still hasn’t been snapped or shared. I should also take the time to look at old pictures and see how I’ve grown ( if at all ㅋㅋㅋ ). Doing so could also potentially help me figure out what projects I should work on next or perhaps give me some inspiration.

Admittedly, these pictures here probably aren’t my strongest but I like them for what they are – grainy, pushed film, fisheye portraits. I took them back in April of 2013 with a Canon AE-1 / 15mm fisheye lens on some Fuji Neopan 400 film that I pushed to ISO 1600 in the darkroom. Pushing the film speed means it can be shot in lower lighting situations. It also enhances the grain and leaves a more contrasty image. I like the look, but it might not be to everyone’s taste. What do you all think?

Well, in light of posting some old portraits, I’d like to announce that I’ve recently reached the 1000 follower mark – just a few days before this blog’s 2 year anniversary. I’m really thrilled that so many of you out there have decided to follow me and see what I conjure up with analog photography. Thank you all so much for your positive comments and support! Take good care, everyone ㅎㅎ Patrick Bresnahan

One thought on “Four Fisheye Portraits – Kersh, Frank, Me, some Students

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Please feel free to comment ~

