Fairwell to my Father…

pop 1pop 2pop 3pop 4pop 5pop 6pop 7pop 10pop 11pop 12pop 13pop 14

pop 8

I’m coming to you with some somber news today. My father recently became ill and passed away. He had been perfectly healthy and then, suddenly, an illness swept over him and never let go. After battling in the hospital for two weeks, he finally slipped away.

As you may or may not know, I live, study, and work in South Korea. My home and family are in the United States. With my father’s passing, I dropped everything – the classes that I’m currently teaching and the Master’s degree courses that I’m taking – and rushed home to be with loved ones and to perform the funeral. The brief trip was hectic and full of many tears. Although it was a whirlwind, the trip was also a time of healing. I find myself now back in Korea, back at work and school, trying to pick up the pieces.

I’d like to share with you what I wrote for the eulogy. It was a struggle to read the following passage, but I choked back my tears and whimpered out these words:

“Writing and speaking about someone you know and love dearly should be simple, but it’s not…for me, at least. This past week I’ve been struggling with what to say about my father. How can I put his life and actions into words? How can I give an accurate portrayal of him in a way that does his memory justice in just a few minutes? I finally came to the conclusion that I simply cannot summarize just how great a man my father was in a few short moments or words. In reality, it would take a lifetime of 66 years or more to capture even a mere glimpse of my father’s love, compassion, creativity, and wisdom.

It’s really hard to process his passing. I hate to think of how he won’t be around to give us advice, share his love and teaching, joke around with his unique wit and humor, or create beautiful works of art in his studio.

Although he was plucked from this earth at too young an age, my father lived a full and vibrant life. Through his teaching, preaching, and wisdom he touched many souls. He raised four boys to become successful young men. He loved our mother unconditionally through good times and bad. My father always led us down the right path, and I hope you remember him fondly as you travel on your own individual journeys. Thank you all for being here to support us, both grieving our loss and rejoicing in heaven’s gain.”

So here we have several recent photos I took of my father. Also included here are some shots I took at the funeral. They were all captured with various cameras and black and white films. Thank you all for visiting the blog, having a look, and showing your support.

If you would like to help me out at this time, please take a look at this post.

~ Patrick Bresnahan

19 thoughts on “Fairwell to my Father…

    • I too, am sorry for your loss. I agree. One thing that keeps my spirits high is knowing that he didn’t suffer for long. My father was doing what he loved right up to the last minute. I’m thankful for that.

  1. Hello Patrick
    May I pass on my deepest condolences for your loss and my thoughts are with you at this difficult time.
    Obviously I didn’t know your father but from the photos you’ve posted he looked like a happy and loving man, he has a big smile on his face in every photo which is lovely.
    Best wishes
    Helen

  2. Pingback: …and a Humble Plea for Help. All Photos Currently for Sale. Please Read. | pj brez photography

  3. Oh Patrick, it is hard to press the like-button on this, but it is a beautiful and very loving post of your father you share with us, deeply touching.
    And I’m so so sorry for your loss…
    Take the best care of yourself.

  4. The pictures you have of your father are treasures to hold. I can’t say that I know what you are feeling but I went through the same journey with my father. Much love to you and your family.

  5. A profoundly moving tribute to your father. One that resonates within all of us. When my father passed about 3 years ago, someone sent me this thought by Rabindranath Tagore ““Death is not extinguishing the light; it is only putting out the lamp because the dawn has come.”

    Your father’s wisdom and love remains fully alive within you and will continue to guide you in the years to come.

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and the wonderful photos of special moments.

  6. Pingback: Peace Like a River ( It is Well with My Soul ) | pj brez photography

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Please feel free to comment ~

