Bamboo Grove, 7 Photos

grove1grove2grove3grove5grove6grove 7Bamboo Grove, 7 Photos

Here are seven pictures captured in Boseong, South Korea with a Mamiya RZ67 / Sekor 110mm lens F2.8 ( hands down the sharpest lens I’ve used ). Due to the failing light, I had to push the film one stop in order to get faster shutter speeds and not suffer from camera shake. The film used here was Fuji Provia 400x slide film. I’d only pushed black and white and color negative film before, never slide, but this particular label certainly works. I’d be interested in seeing it pushed even further. The tones and colors of slide films are simply superb.

I shoot with a lot of analog cameras. After much trial and error, I can usually estimate the shutter speed / aperture without metering in many lighting conditions. Color negative and black and white films are pretty forgiving if off by a stop or so. Even if I make a bit of a mistake, I’m likely to still get a printable or scannable negative. When shooting slide films, however, one’s metering should be spot on. Overexposed slides have a tendency to get bleached  out, while underexposed slides tend to look washed out or faded. With the Mamiya and the seven photos above, I used a free light meter smart phone app. It’s pretty nifty, nowhere near as sophisticated or expensive as a proper light meter ( you can’t beat free ) but it definitely works in a pinch. I feel only one of the portraits of Frank up above came out too dark. That’s because I purposefully under exposed the shot by one stop because I wanted to double expose it – two underexposed shots on one frame of film equals a properly exposed photograph. Well, I pressed the multiple exposure switch on the Mamiya but I must have done something wrong. The shutter wouldn’t fire twice, so I had to advance the film to the next frame. I went ahead and tried again, leading to the double exposure seen above.

I took another slide photograph at the same location sometime back. Only that time I used a pinhole camera and neutral density filter to capture the movement of the bamboo trees swaying the wind. You can check that one out here. I’m quite fond of that photograph, and I hope you are too : ) Please enjoy the photos of this post for now! I captured them with a Mamiya RZ67 on Fuji Provia 400x slide film, e6 processed, and pushed one stop to ISO 800. ©Patrick Bresnahan

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Please feel free to comment ~

