The Best Thing I’ve Seen in a Long Time

The Best Thing I've Seen in a Long Time

I know it’s not a perfect capture. Ideally I would have gotten closer…but I didn’t want to disturb the scene. It was all so peaceful, so serene. I’ve been an avid reader for as long as I can remember. I end each night curled up in bed with a book, my eyes peering over the pages until the words start swimming about and I fall a slumber.

To stumble across this family reading together on a park bench did my heart wonders. I actually became late for work because I stopped my car, pulled over, and snapped a few candid photos. But no matter, I have no regrets about being late for work : ) Yet, how seldom do I see scenes like this here in Korea. I often ask my students what their favorite books are. Rarely can they come up with an answer. They’re too busy being forced to read textbooks and cram for exams that very few actually find enjoyment in leisure reading. How sad. Seldom do I see folks on the subway or bus reading for pleasure. Most tend to simply kill time by playing games on their smart phones. So, when I came upon this family reading together under the falling crimson leaves of Autumn, I knew I had to capture this moment and share with all of you.  Shot with a Canon AE-1 on Kodak Portra 160 film. © Patrick Bresnahan

11 thoughts on “The Best Thing I’ve Seen in a Long Time

  1. Yes! A wonderful sight! I’m an avid reader also, though have travelled the road of too much study of books almost killing the joy of reading. Thankfully, it survived 🙂

    • Excellent, I’m glad to hear it! I don’t want to paint too bleak a picture here…I’m sure there are plenty of Koreans who enjoy reading and analog things. I just wish I saw it more often : )

  2. Oh, this is great! I’m an avid reader too, and all this texting or what people do on their smartphones is just killing reading books.
    Well seen and captured, and thanks for sharing!!

    • Thanks! I agree. To me, nothing beats the tangible. I love shooting film and reading actual books – not taking digital photos or reading electronic books. There’s something special about something you can hold in your hand, pass on to someone or keep in your drawer forever. A handwritten letter, for example, always feels better than an email or facebook message.

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Please feel free to comment ~

