Anseong in Infrared, 6 photos

watermarked efke aura 5watermarked efke aura 4watermarked efke aura 3watermarked efke aura 2watermarked efke aura 1Anseong in Infrared, 6 photos

Here we have six shots that were taken around Anseong, South Korea, where I currently reside. I shot these a little over a week ago, on my birthday. I wanted to spend my birthday doing what I love – enjoying nature, riding my bike, and taking some photos. So I loaded up my Rolleiflex with some infrared film and spent my afternoon outdoors, soaking up some lovely sunlight.  These six shots were captured with a Rolleiflex Automat A on Efke Aura black and white infrared film, Hoya R72 filtered. As with all my black and white / black and white infrared film, these shots were personally developed in a darkroom with D76. © Patrick Bresnahan

12 thoughts on “Anseong in Infrared, 6 photos

    • Thanks! The black and white infrared look will very on a few things. To get the dark skies, near black waters, and bright white foliage there are a few important bits to keep in mind. First, a really dark filter is necessary. I tried just using a dark red filter, and my photos didn’t look all that great. At least they didn’t have that classic IR look. I nearly always use a Hoya R72 filter for b&w IR. It’s really, really dark. This means that lots of visible light is blocked out and more infrared light is let through. Exposure times with this filter are typically from 1-2 seconds in bright sunlight at f/8, f/11, or f/16 and with most black and white IR films ( excluding Kodak HIE ). So a tripod is nearly always a must when shooting black and white IR. Otherwise, you’ll either get underexposed photos or properly exposed pictures with camera shake.

      It’s also fairly important what film you shoot. My first rolls were shot on Ilford SFX 200. This has extended red sensitivity, but it’s not a true IR film. I do like the look that the film gives, but it doesn’t quite compare to certain other IR films that have a more extended sensitivity within the infrared part of the light spectrum. My personal favorite is Efke IR 820 Aura. I tend to shoot that film more than any other, but Rollei IR 400 is nice too.

      Anyhow, I hope that helps a bit. Give infrared film another go! If you have any questions or concerns, let me know and I’d be glad to help out if I’m able : )

    • Oh yeah, I forgot to mention one thing! It’s also wise to shoot on clear, sunny days. The bluer the skies, the easier it is to achieve that classic IR look. Early mornings or late afternoons are ideal when shooting with your back to the sun : )

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Please feel free to comment ~

