Cathedral Guadalupe in Infrared ( 4 Images )

watermarked guadalupe cathedral revisitedwatermarked guadalupe cathedral revisited 2watermarked guadalupe cathedral revisited 3watermarked guadalupe cathedral revisited 4

While traveling back home in the States, I had the opportunity to try out shooting some slightly expired infrared film ( Efke IR 820 – not the Aura kind )  in my Rolleiflex Automat A. Prior to this I’d only shot the Efke Aura infrared stuff and I’d never used the Rolleiflex when shooting IR. I was really worried about not being able to get crisp photos since the Rolleiflex doesn’t come with that little red dot to help adjust to focusing in IR light. However, from experience I knew that it’s best to focus a bit closer to myself. I’m pleased that the entire roll worked out well. You can see another shot from it here. I’m hoping to be able to try this out again. I’m really fond of shooting my newly acquired Rolleiflex.

Here we have four photos of the Cathedral Santuario de Guadalupe in downtown Dallas, TX. It was constructed in 1898 and is still in daily use today. All photos were taken with a Rolleiflex Automat A on slightly expired Efke IR 820 infrared film, personally developed in the darkroom with D76. © Patrick Bresnahan

5 thoughts on “Cathedral Guadalupe in Infrared ( 4 Images )

  1. I do not understand the intricacies of photography. …The ‘lit’ cross on top shows it is night. I do not know how You achieved such lights on the subject! Felt good to be ‘there!’

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Please feel free to comment ~

