If You Don’t Know Where You’re Going, Any Road Will Take You There

watermarked color IR road

Color infrared film loses its vibrancy when shot on cloudy days. I’ve learned that through experience. Sure, I love the bright bold look of color infrared film when it’s shot on sunny days, but its cloudy day subtle tones, pastel pinks and pacifying blues are lovely too. This particular photo was shot with the Holga on a tripod. I knew it was too dark to be shooting with the Holga on its N setting ( one click of the shutter is about 1/100 of a second and the largest aperture is f/8 ). So, I set the Holga up on a tripod, kept it real still, and pressed the shutter twice to get a proper exposure. So, I guess this is technically a double exposure. Captured with a taped up Holga on the frustratingly rare, ever so 신기한 Kodak Aerochrome color infrared film, Tiffen Yellow #12 filtered and E6 slide processed.

11 thoughts on “If You Don’t Know Where You’re Going, Any Road Will Take You There

    • Cheers, I’m glad you really like this one! For sure, photography takes a lot of patience and trial and error. That’s one reason why I prefer shooting film – I have to focus and concentrate more on each frame to make the photo work. With digital, it’s easy for me to be mindless and shoot a billion photos – often lackluster ones.

  1. Pingback: The Road, 200th Post | pj brez photography

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Please feel free to comment ~

