Golden Gate Bridge, Black and White Infrared ( 4 Photos )

watermarked ir ggb 5watermarked ir ggb 6watermarked ir ggb 3Golden Gate Bridge, Black and White Infrared ( 4 Photos )

Here we have four shots of the Golden Gate Bridge, shot with a Holga on Rollei IR 400 film, Hoya R72 filtered. The rollei IR film is pretty decent. You can check another shot I took on this film here.  Although I enjoy shooting this film, I tend to prefer Efke Aura for black and white infrared photography. As always with black and white film, I personally developed the rolls in my darkroom. © Patrick Bresnahan

17 thoughts on “Golden Gate Bridge, Black and White Infrared ( 4 Photos )

    • Thanks, I’m happy these turned out! Indeed, the Efke is better – especially for getting foliage to glow. Yet, the Rollei IR film gives nice contrast and turns the sky and water black with the proper lighting, something that’s essential in getting that ‘infrared look.’ Lately, I’ve been trying to get my hands on some more Efke Aura…it’s getting harder to find!

    • Cheers! I hope you get fantastic results : ) The R72 is a really dark filter, so you’ll most likely need a full second exposure time at f8/f11 in bright sunlight. Happy experimentation, I hope you get some awesome pictures!

      • Thanks Patrick. We’ve still got some film to print from previous rolls, but the negatives from the SFX are somewhere in that bunch and some look good. I had a look through my viewfinder with the R72 on it and you’re right, that’s really dark. Hoping to get out sometime this week if rain doesn’t wash us out as is predicted but will keep you posted. Just love trying new stuff. Have a good one.

        Joey

      • Yes, it’s great trying new techniques and films. I love how experimental film photography can be. The R72 is so dark, so you’ll want to focus without it first, put it on the lens, then adjust the focus for IR ( using the red dots / lines on the lens barrel ). Then shoot away. It’s a good idea to bracket a bit if you’re able ( I usually bracket with 35mm but not with 120 since there are fewer shots ). If I’m bracketing, I’ll usually take one, two, and three second exposures at around f8-f16 depending on lighting. Anyhow, good luck, happy shooting, and take good care!

      • Thanks Patrick, I appreciate the tip. I’m sure that focusing is going to be a challenge because my camera is totally manual. I’d already figured that I would have to focus everything and then try not to move anything while attaching the filter. EEEEK. Wish me luck.

        Joey

      • Yes, focusing will definitely be a bit of a challenge – especially if your lens doesn’t have those red dots or lines. Remember that you’re not actually capturing your subject, but the infrared light that’s reflecting off of it. So, if you don’t have the red dot or line on your lens to compensate for IR focusing, just focus as normal and put on your filter, then focus a little bit closer to you and further away from the subject. It’s not too drastic of a change in focus, but it will make a difference. If you don’t compensate for the IR focusing, your photo will likely be a bit blurry. The rolleiflex I have lacks this red dot, so when shooting IR I had to just guess how to compensate. It worked out fine, and it especially helps to shoot at f11 or f16. Best of luck! I hope you get some great images : )

      • I will keep you posted Patrick. The Mamiya doesn’t have the red dot either. I will just see how it goes. The last roll I shot with the Holga and until now I’ve just seen the negatives which look good. Off course, focus is no real problem with the Holga as the images are supposed to look “less than sharp”. You never know I might just have to join the revolution of shooting “out of focus” images…….kidding!!

    • Thanks! For sure, see if they carry the Efke. I prefer it over all other infrared films ( Kodak HIE was great, but it’s really hard to find / expensive ). Chances are, your store might not be carrying Efke anymore. That company went out of business last August. You can still find it on ebay, though. It’s worth shooting because it gives a more blossoming, glowing effect on foliage ( when compared to Rollei IR 400 ). However, the Efke film is really thin and scratches easily – so you’ll have to be really careful when processing it.

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Please feel free to comment ~

