Color Infrared Street Photography – Four Photos

color infrared street photography 1color infrared street photography 3color infrared street photography 6

color infrared street photography 2

Last year, I shot several rolls of Kodak Aerochrome color infrared film. At first, I tried to limit my risk of failure since the film was, and continues to be so rare and valuable. So I shot things that were relatively easy to control – landscapes, portraits, and statues. ( You can see more photos in these styles by clicking the Infrared Photography icon in the menu on my home page. ) Yet, on my last roll I wanted to gamble a bit so I decided to try my hand at shooting discrete street color infrared photos. I hadn’t seen anyone do this before ( probably for the same reasons I hadn’t done it prior except for this one time ). Well, no risk – no reward, right?

I’m not exactly stoked on how the photos came out. I think some of them are pretty decent, but I’ll probably have to try this again. Next time, I’ll try shooting color infrared photos on the street with my Rolleiflex. Since it’s a twin lens reflex, it’s a bit more subtle than the big chunky Holga which tends to draw a lot of attention.

These four photos were shot in South Korea with a Holga on the gut wrenchingly rare, ever so enchanting Kodak Aerochrome color infrared film, E6 processed and Tiffen yellow #12 filtered. © Patrick Bresnahan

21 thoughts on “Color Infrared Street Photography – Four Photos

  1. wonderful shots Patrick; I like all of them but especially the two first!
    I understand you quite well with regard to the “conservationism” of the color IR film shots, I have four rolls and I haven’t decided yet how to use them but, as you say, no risk, no reward!
    I’ll keep an eye on your stream to see the Rollei ones!

    • Thank you! It wasn’t exactly easy to get them. I had to bid on Ebay until I won. From there, I contacted the seller and negotiated a deal for more rolls. I’ve got about 7 rolls in my freezer at the moment. I’ll be shooting some soon enough once Spring has officially sprung here in Korea and everything is blooming and blossoming again. I have quite a few other infrared shots here on my blog. I’m not sure if you’ve seen them, but feel free to check them out and let me know what you think. Just go to my home page and find the drop down menu at the bottom left hand corner. From there, click on Infrared Photography to see all my other infrared shots ( at least the one’s I’ve posted so far ).

    • Thanks, I appreciate it! For sure, I’ll savor that film til its last drop : ) I’m pretty bummed that it’s almost completely gone, but nothing good lasts forever, eh?

      • Perhaps. I think they would need to make enough revenue selling standard color and black and white films first before they get into the marginalized infrared field. I know I’m not the only one lamenting the loss of Kodak Aerochrome film, though. Maybe someday either Kodak or another company will produce some color infrared film. I hope that day comes!

  2. Definitely interesting especially with the vignetting. This is the first time I’ve seen color infrared images. I’ve just shot a roll in my Holga in B&W. Some of those negatives look like they came out great so can’t wait to print them out in the darkroom. Maybe I will even be brave enough to post some. Going to try the next roll in my Mamiya. Love all this experimentation and the fact that I get to see yours and everyone else work and that we’re all keeping film alive.

    Joey

    • Yes, I’m proud to be among those still keeping film alive! It’s a precious thing, and not something to be taken for granted. I have plenty of other color infrared shots on my site. Feel free to check them out and let me know what you think. Best of luck shooting b&w IR! I’ve had some great shots come from shooting that film in my Holga. What film are you shooting? My personal favorite is Efke Aura, but it’s harder to find these days. Anyhow, if you have any questions about shooting black and white infrared, don’t hesitate to ask! Take care,

      Patrick

      • Thanks Patrick. Will certainly keep you in mind if I have questions. The last film I shot in my Holga was not a true IR film but I didn’t have the R72 filter so I used Ilford SFX with a R25 red filter. We’ve got that film developed and it looks like we might have some pretty good ones among those. Will keep you posted. Have a good day.

        Joey

      • Great, I’d love to see your results! I’ve shot that same film in 35mm before, although I don’t believe I’ve shared any of those photos here just yet. I do like the look of Ilford SFX. It’s high in contrast yet doesn’t quite yield a stark IR image. Either way, it’s fun to shoot. I’m interested to see how your photos turn out with a dark red filter as opposed to the R72. Keep me posted. Take care,
        Patrick

  3. These are so nice Patrick! And it will be lovely to see what you’ll come up with later, with the Rolleiflex. Can’t wait to see…
    I have bought a bit of black &White IR film, and am eagerly waiting for all the f….ing snow to disappear so I can begin to use it.
    Longing for some nice greenery…..

    • Hehehe, I perfectly understand! I’m tired of this long winter we’ve been having. Things are warming up in Korea, but Winter is definitely holding on tight. We’ll have one day of nice warm weather, then three or four cold and nasty days. Best of luck shooting b&w IR! I’m sure you’ll get fantastic results! Did you pick up some Rollei IR 400? Do you plan on using a dark red filter or a Hoya R72? If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask : )

  4. Pingback: Another Smoking Bicyclist | pj brez photography

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Please feel free to comment ~

