Nieces, Part 1

watermarked niece 2Nieces, Part 1

Shooting indoors can be pretty tricky, especially with fully manual cameras that are lacking any sort of light meter. My Rolleiflex model is completely analog, completely manual. No batteries, no light meter, just set your shutter speed and aperture and shoot away. It’s a beauty, and I’m very satisfied by its quality when shooting in poor lighting situations.

Here we have two shots of two of my nieces. Captured with a Rolleiflex Automat A on Kodak Tmax 400 film, personally developed in the darkroom with D76. © Patrick Bresnahan

26 thoughts on “Nieces, Part 1

    • Thanks! They certainly were a treat to visit : ) And yes, I’m getting along rather nicely with my Rolleiflex. I definitely messed up on quite a few shots, but I feel that my future shots will be better ( at least properly exposed ) now that I’ve developed and scanned the film and seen where I made mistakes and where I was successful.

  1. Lovely pictures and my kind of pictures – B&W available light on film. Really interesting for me too as I wasn’t very happy with TMax 400 in D76 when I tried it but your pix show it was me not the film/developer combination. I hope I can do as well when I see my grandchildren in Germany in May – I don’t have a Rollei but will probably take my Bessa T or L with 35mm and 90mm lenses (Voigtlander) and a 50mm Jupiter.

    • Thanks, I’m glad you enjoy these photos. I’m sure you’ll be able to capture wonderful photos of your grandchildren with one of those Bessas. I’m not too familiar with those cameras, although they look quite nice from what I’ve just read online. As far as developers are concerned, I only have experience with D76. I’d like to try out some others if given a chance. Typically, I have better luck when developing, printing, and scanning medium format as opposed to 35mm. However, I have gotten strange streaks / watermarks before – especially with fomapan medium format films. I’m not sure if those streaks are due to some error I made or if it was just a bad combination of film and developer / fixer. Also, I rarely have problems when shooting expired films – especially when it comes to black and white. Yet, I did get a few rolls of expired HP5+ that all came out terribly. There were these odd vertical lines all over the film. I haven’t had any problems developing fresh HP5+ though.

    • Thank you very kindly! I think that’s the most challenging part of taking portraits – capturing the subject’s true character. I still have a lot to learn!

  2. They’re both lovely shots, but I’m particularly in love with the lighting on the one with your niece and the teddy bear; so cool!

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Please feel free to comment ~

