Fountain Place, 3 Minute Pinhole Exposure

watermarked fountain place b&wFountain Place, 3 Minute Pinhole Exposure

While traveling back home, I had the opportunity to wander around Dallas, TX and take some photos. Here we have two shots of the Fountain Place, designed by master architect I.M. Pei.

The original shot was taken with a Holga Pinhole Wide on Kodak Ektar 100. Since it was a breezy, cloudy day, I decided to throw on a 6 stop neutral density filter to show a lot of movement in the sky. Basically, a neutral density filter doesn’t change the tone of the image, it just requires a longer shutter speed. This is how photographers get that ‘soft’ look with waterfalls or running streams. For the record, I never photoshop my images. Yet, this time around I wanted to see how this shot would look in black and white, so I also scanned it thus. In the future, I’ll probably try out some black and white film for shots of this nature.

This three minute exposure was captured with a Holga Pinhole Wide and a 6 stop ND filter on Kodak Ektar 100 film. © Patrick Bresnahan

9 thoughts on “Fountain Place, 3 Minute Pinhole Exposure

    • I kinda wish I’d had some black and white infrared film loaded that day. It would have made for an even longer exposure with the Hoya R72 filter – probably around 6-8 minutes I’d guess. There would have been even more visible movement and the skies would have come out jet black. That would have been extra otherworldly ㅋㅋㅋ

    • Cheers, I really appreciate it! I always felt like photoshop was mainly used to make digital photos look like film ones…I’d rather skip all that time spent on a computer and just shoot film. I want to be proud of my photos for the way they are and the way I shot them – not because I photoshopped them to look cool.

  1. Pingback: Three Minutes, Downtown Dallas | pj brez photography

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Please feel free to comment ~

