Hanbok Juxtaposition, 3 Shots from the Bus Stop

Hanbok Juxtaposition, 3 Shots from the Bus Stop

watermarked hanbok bus stop 2 watermarked hanbok bus stop 3

Korea is a country of contrasts. The ancient and crumbling lay beside the the pristine and modern. Not only is this apparent architecturally, but socially and culturally as well.

Here we can see a lady wearing traditional Korean dress, the hanbok. This formal clothing dates back to the Joseon Dynasty, yet is still worn today – even by folks waiting to catch a bus. These three shots were taken at a bus stop in Anseong, South Korea, with my new analog love – the Rolleiflex Automat A – on Kodak Tri-X 400 film that was personally souped up in the darkroom with D76.

Now, don’t let the ‘auto’ in Automat fool you. This camera is completely manual – from focusing to selecting shutter speed and aperture. It requires no batteries and has no light meter. It’s challenging to shoot with, but well worth it. I love using its twin lens and waist level view finder to capture candid snaps on the street. © Patrick Bresnahan

13 thoughts on “Hanbok Juxtaposition, 3 Shots from the Bus Stop

    • Thank you, your comments are appreciated : ) I’m really head over heels for this camera! It’s build, quality, and engineering are superb. It’s amazing that a camera from 1951 can work so well ~

    • Thank you, I appreciate it! Agreed, this Rolleiflex has some lovely bokeh. Even though I have the cheaper lens, the Tessar 3.5, the photos still come out really crisp and with a soft, pleasant bokeh. I’ve only shot a few rolls with this camera, but I’ve been mighty impressed by her quality. I can’t wait to get out and shoot some more : )

    • Thank you, I couldn’t agree more! I’ve been eager to get a Rolleiflex for a few years now – ever since I started getting into photography, particularly film photography and shooting medium format. It’s the perfect camera to shoot on the streets. It’s quiet, and most people don’t even realize it’s a camera or that I’m taking their picture since it’s a TLR.

    • Wow, thank you so much! You’re too sweet. I think there are many good reasons to shoot film over digital, yet one of the greatest things about film is that one can hold on to their negatives. It’s easy to lose a USB or have a hard drive crash. Yet, since I have a folder full of negatives, I’ll hopefully be able to share my photos with the generations to come : )

  1. Pingback: Hanboks and Light Leaks | pj brez photography

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Please feel free to comment ~

