Redscale Gothic, Returning Home

Redscale Gothic, Returning Home

Well, I’ve finally returned to my blog after a nice soothing vacation at home with family. I can’t express how wonderful it was to reunite with my folks and family. I feel the whole trip was therapeutic, and now I’m getting ready to go back to the daily grind of working in Korea.

Anyhow, I’m happy to be back online and posting again. As you can see I’ve revamped the layout of the site with a new theme. I hope you enjoy the new look.

I still have a lot of work to do as far as developing and scanning is concerned. The building that houses my darkroom is currently being renovated, and there’s no flowing water at the moment. This is putting all my black and white / black and white infrared developing on hold. I’m anxious to get in there and see what I shot while traveling in the States!

Thanks for stopping by. I hope you all enjoy what I’ve got to share in the weeks and months to come.

This particular photo was shot in Dallas, Texas at the Cathedral Guadalupe catholic church. I took it with a Holga on slightly expired Lomography Redscale 100 film. © Patrick Bresnahan

30 thoughts on “Redscale Gothic, Returning Home

  1. Welcome back!!! I have missed your posts, but am glad to hear that you had a wonderful vacation. Looking forward to all that you have to share in the weeks and months to come!

    • Thank you so much! I’m also looking forward to sharing some photos both new and old. I hope you enjoy them : ) Also, I’m excited to read over all of your posts that I missed while traveling. It’ll be great to catch up on all your insights!

  2. Hi Patrick, I missed your fresh posts a lot, I hope you show us your magnificent work now!!
    These are really impressive takes!
    I only did a redscale roll in a filmswap colaboration and I find it quite interesting, I think I would give it another try.

    • Thanks, I hope I can produce some more nice images for you and others to enjoy! I’m glad you like the two new shots I’ve posted this week. I don’t have too much experience shooting redscale either. I’ve only tried one roll in medium format, although I have made my own redscale for 35mm by just inverting the film. The results can be quite nice…sort of monochrome, but not black in white. Anyhow, I’ll be posting some more redscale photos in the future. And I’d like to see some of your stellar pinhole shots in redscale if you get the chance : )

  3. Welcome back Patrick, glad to hear you had a nice trip.
    This image is really stunning, the redscale fits the majestic building well!
    Have you seen Lomographys new purple “infrared” colour film? They say it is like the Kodak IR you use to use. Rather thrilling, I have preordered some rolls…. 😉

    • Thanks so much, I had a wonderful time back home. I’m glad you like this shot – I thought the redscale film was really fitting as well. And yes, I’ve heard about the new purple film from lomography. I haven’t preordered it yet, but I’d like to. The film is not true infrared, it just sort of copies the infrared look. I’m not sure if it’ll be like shooting the real stuff because there are no filters involved and you don’t have to handle it carefully. However, I’m sure it’ll produce some cool images and I’d like to give it a go if I’ve got the chance ~

  4. THis is beautiful! I was going to ask if it was shot with a holga – thot i recognized the feel of it 🙂 Also – having been stationed in Korea while in the service, am wondering where you are and what type of work you do there. Thanks for your return visit to my blog and for liking ‘Sunlit Dancer’ – your continued support is appreciated!

    • Thanks, I’m glad you like it! It definitely has that Holga look – soft focus, vignetting, etc. And no problem, I enjoy your photography. It’s a pleasure to check out what you’re capturing : ) For me, I live in Anseong. It’s near Pyeongtaek and not too far from Cheonan. I teach English conversation at a university here.

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Please feel free to comment ~

