Infrared Pagoda, 100th Post

Infrared Pagoda, 100th Post

With this photo, I’m marking my 100th post. It was shot in the deep Korean countryside near Goesan with a Holga on Efke Aura IR 820 infrared film, Hoya R72 filtered. Just like with all my black and white shots, I personally developed the film in a darkroom to which I have access. Thank you all for your kind words and comments. I really appreciate the community I’ve found here online. Well, I’ll be traveling home to visit my family for the next month and a half or so. Therefore, I’ll be taking a bit of a hiatus from posting. Yet, come late February / early March I should be back online, updating my site, and sharing more photography, my creative outlet. If you’ve got the time, feel free to check out some of my older posts and tell me what you think. Take care everyone! Happy blogging! Patrick ~

50 thoughts on “Infrared Pagoda, 100th Post

  1. Totally stunning image, love how you’ve framed the pagoda! May your time with your family be all that you wish for 🙂 Take care, happy travelling.

    • Oh yeah, I love getting in the darkroom. I feel like a mad scientist with all those chemicals. Plus, it’s a blast to develop my own prints and see images appear in those little trays : )

    • Thanks, I really love shooting infrared! I think it looks best when using film. I’ve seen some digital IR photos online, and they just don’t look as striking to me. Anyhow, thanks for your comment ~

  2. Congratulations on your 100th post! You have chosen the photo that reflects the next stage….you are only at the beginning. Many adventure ahead!. I am looking forward to tagging along!.

    • Thanks so much! I appreciate it. I really look forward to heading home and spending some quality time with my family. It’s been far too long. Thanks again for the safe travel wishes, and don’t worry! I’ll be back shortly to keep posting my film photos : )

    • Thanks so much! Yes, infrared film is really dreamy stuff. It captures what we cannot perceive visibly – the infrared light spectrum. So this isn’t a photo of a pagoda – it’s a photo of the infrared light bouncing off the pagoda! Neat stuff, eh?

  3. hey, i finally leave a comment here even though i visited here before..
    every single works are awesome! 🙂 i noticed you are such an photographer! COOL.

    • Hey Jina~! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I appreciate it : ) I’m glad you check out my site from time to time. I’m happy to hear you dig my photos hehe ~ feel free to drop by and leave more comments when you feel so inclined ^^

    • Thank you very kindly, I also really enjoy your site! Your pinhole photos are wicked cool, and I think you should definitely give IR a go with your zero image ( although I’m not too sure about attaching a filter to it ). I tried shooting some black and white infrared with my holga pinhole wide. The results were pretty decent, and I’m planning on trying it again soon when I get the chance. Also, you’re first shot at IR was a great success! Thanks for directing me over to your flickr, I really enjoyed those snaps : )

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Please feel free to comment ~

