Bear Hat, Part I

Bear Hat, Part I

I’ve often heard the Robert Capa quote, ‘If your pictures aren’t good enough, you aren’t close enough.’ I tend to agree, but not necessarily with this and the following shot. Part of me thinks that this photo is stronger than the next. Is it because of the depth of field? Or is it because the background is more interesting? I’d love to hear your thoughts! Which photo do you prefer ( if any ) and why? Shot with a Canon AE-1 on Lomography Earl Grey ISO 100 film. Personally developed in the darkroom with D76.  © Patrick Bresnahan

18 thoughts on “Bear Hat, Part I

      • I must admit that I really lack the technical knowledge to know which is better, its just a personal preference.

      • I don’t know any of the technical stuff either. I’m not the slightest bit trained in photography. I guess I’ve just been learning from my shooting experience. For the infrared stuff, I did a lot of research online. Anyhow, personal preference is key. Sometimes I’ll ask friends which photos they like before I decide to print some. Oftentimes they like the ones that I don’t care for and vice versa!

      • I find that some things ithink are great peopel dislike and some that I think are fairly mediocre are loved by many, sometimes i guess you are just too close to it to see it, its a vast field about which I know virtually nothing..

  1. I like this one best too, and I see your point. For me, it’s because I can se the interaction from people around, looking at the “bear lady”, or just doing ther own things. She looks quite alone in your closeup, and in this I see why… Brilliant, Patrick!
    All the best for a happy and creative 2013 to you and yours!
    Marie

    • Thanks so much for your input. Likewise, Happy New Year! Oh, also! I was wondering about the holga macro lens ( I FINALLY got my new holga in the mail today. ) I’m about to start cutting up some strings to use for distance focusing. However, I’m not sure where I should start measuring from – the lens attachment or the actual lens on the holga. Any advice would be appreciated : )

      • I mean, should I put the holga macro lens on and then measure from that point? Or, should I take off the macro lens off and then measure from where the holga’s actual lens begins? I hope that’s not too confusing!

      • I measure from the front of the lens with the macrolens/filter on it. I don’t know if that is correct, but it works sometimes 😀 It is very hard to be exact, but I think that is what they mean when they say 3 or 6 cm from the lens….
        Can’t wait to see your results! 🙂
        I have finally got my Zero images 2000 pinhole camera after more than two months waiting, so I’m desperate for the rain to stop and the sun and light to come back again…..
        Good luck!!

  2. I agree, this one works better, as it shows more of the surrounding scene and sets it in a contect.

    However, I think it might also be a interesting shot getting real close and snap a portrait. Don’t know if she might have agreed to this though 🙂

  3. Hmmm…welllll…guess I’m going against the tide here — but! you did ask for feedback, so here goes –

    I think for a piece titled “Bear Hat” the other image works better. It shows us the humor and incongruity of the scene — a lady preparing food on a street cart in winter while wearing that hat; the way you captured the door of the phone booth behind her adds a little surrealism. The second image (on this page) is a good street scene with a street vendor, but the “bear hat” takes a backseat. The story in other image made me chuckle a little and think “wait — what?”

    Anyway, my two cents. 🙂

  4. 반가운 안성!
    흑백사진이라 더더욱 한국적인 느낌이에요
    지금은 최첨단시대인데 왠지 조선시대인 것 같은 흑백사진 느낌이 따듯하고 좋네요 ^_^

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Please feel free to comment ~

