Seoul’s Olympic Bridge in Infrared ( 서울의 올림픽대교 적외선으로 )

Seoul's Olympic Bridge in Infrared ( 서울의 올림픽대교 적외선으로 )

This was my first time using infrared film in a pinhole camera, first time shooting infrared in any season other than summer, and the first time experimenting with Rollei IR 400 film. I’d only shot Kodak HIE and Efke Aura 820 infrared films prior to this time. I often read how it’s best to avoid shooting infrared in less than ideal lighting / seasonal situations. I now disagree. This photo was shot in late November, just around sunset, on a blistery cold late afternoon. The exposure time was around 25 minutes, being shot with a Holga Pinhole Wide on Rollei IR 400 film through a Hoya R72 filter. The film was personally developed in the darkroom with D76 © Patrick Bresnahan

19 thoughts on “Seoul’s Olympic Bridge in Infrared ( 서울의 올림픽대교 적외선으로 )

    • Thanks, I was really unsure of how this roll would turn out since I had never shot IR in a pinhole before. Also, my Hoya R72 filter is too big for the camera, so I had to craftily tape it on. There were so many things that could have gone wrong, so I’m happy these shots turned out fine. I’ll be posting more from this roll in the future ~

  1. This is extremely beautiful and creative! Wow, stunning result! How do you decide on exposure time?
    Myself, I have an old but perfectly working manual meter, so I decide the time there first, then I go to two apps which I find very helpful; “Pinhole Assist” and “Reciprocity Timer”, those two is very very helpful.
    Can’t wait to see more of this! 😉

    • Thanks, I actually shot this one twice. This is the second shot. The first one I took just earlier, when there was more sunshine. The first exposure was about 15 minutes. Since the light was fading quickly, I decided to shoot again for about 25 minutes. The first photo came out okay, but it’s brighter. I liked the second, darker photo. It seems more atmospheric, almost brooding in a way.

      To come up with proper exposure times, I just looked online for other pinhole + black and white IR shots. With the Holga Pinhole Wide and a Hoya R72 filter, I found that most exposures in bright sunlight were usually from 5-10 minutes. Since I was shooting late in the afternoon as the sun was setting, I knew a longer exposure time was necessary. I just kind of guesstimated for the whole roll ( 8 exposures ). I was really pleased and surprised that each of my photos were properly ( or near properly ) exposed. I had absolutely no confidence that any of the pictures would turn out. I’ll post more from this roll in the future : )

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Please feel free to comment ~

